Sun Switch Reviews
Independent solar reviews
Honest, plain-language reviews of solar panels, batteries, inverters and installers — so you can compare before you commit.
Browse by category
PanelsEfficiency, warranties and real-world value of solar panels.BatteriesHome battery storage: capacity, power, warranties and backup.InvertersString, micro and hybrid inverters compared.InstallersHow installers compare on quotes, workmanship and support.CostsWhat solar really costs and how to read a quote.
Spec comparison
Compare panels, batteries and inverters
Solar panels
| Maxeon 6 SPR-MAX6-440 Series 425–440 W. Datasheet published March 2024; check current US availability. | Monocrystalline IBC (Gen 6), 66 cells | 440 | 22.8 | -0.29 | 40 (Maxeon Partner install + registration) / 25 standard | 40 / 25 | Not stated (yr 1 ≥98.0%, then max 0.25%/yr) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Qcells Q.TRON BLK M-G2+ 440 Series 420–440 W. Efficiency is the datasheet minimum (430 W bin: ≥22.0%). | N-type (Q.ANTUM NEO), 108 half-cells | 440 | ≥22.5 (min.) | -0.29 | 25 | 25 | ≥90.58% (yr 1 ≥98.5%, then max 0.33%/yr) |
| REC Alpha Pure-RX 470 US series 450–470 W. REC ProTrust also adds up to 25 yr labor (systems <25 kW). | Heterojunction, 88 half-cut bifacial cells | 470 | 22.6 | -0.24 | 20 (25 with REC ProTrust via certified installer) | 25 | 92% (yr 1 ≥98%, then max 0.25%/yr) |
| Silfab Prime SIL-440 QD Datasheet dated Aug 2026. | N-type, 108 half-cells | 440 | 22.6 | -0.29 | 12 (extendable to 25 with registration/conditions) | 30 | ≥90.8% (≥89.3% at yr 30) |
Home batteries
| Enphase IQ Battery 5P (IQBATTERY-5P-1P-NA) · US warranty 240 VAC. Warranty registration within 45 days required (US warranty doc). | LFP; AC-coupled (6 embedded IQ8D-BAT microinverters) | 5 | 3.84 | 7.68 (3 s) | 90 AC / 96 DC | 15 yrs or 6,000 cycles | 70% at yr 10 / 60% at yr 15† |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FranklinWH aPower 2 (APR-10K15V2-US) Charge 8 kW. Up to 15 units per aGate (225 kWh). | LFP; AC-coupled | 15 | 10 (11.5 kVA) | 15 (10 s) | 90 (grid → battery → load) | 15 yrs or 60 MWh throughput | Not confirmed (in end-user warranty doc) |
| SolarEdge Home Battery 400V (BAT-10K1P) | Lithium-ion; DC-coupled to SolarEdge Home Hub | 9.7 | 5 | 7.5 (10 s) | 94.5 (peak) | 10 yrs | 70%† |
| Tesla Powerwall 3 (1707000-xx-y) · Warranty (PDF) Rated at 25 °C, beginning of life. Charge 5 kW (8 kW with expansions). Warranty may drop to 4 yrs without reliable internet (owner's manual). | Lithium-ion (chemistry not stated on datasheet); integrated hybrid inverter, up to 20 kW DC PV | 13.5 | 11.5 (configurable 5.8 / 7.6 / 10 / 11.5); 15.4 off-grid PV-only | Not stated in kW (185 A LRA motor start) | 89 (solar → battery → home) | 10 yrs | 70% at yr 10 |
Inverters
| Enphase IQ8HC-72-M-US Per-unit rating at 240 VAC (208 VAC: 366 VA peak, 96.5%). Labels may say 380 VA; datasheet footnote certifies 384 VA continuous. | Microinverter | 0.384 | 0.384 | 97 | Up to 25 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Enphase IQ8M-72-2-US Per-unit rating at 240 VAC. Sibling IQ8A: 366 VA peak / 349 VA continuous / 97.0%. | Microinverter | 0.325 | 0.33 | 97.5 | Up to 25 |
| SolarEdge Home Hub SE7600H-US 240 VAC. Efficiency 98.5% at 208 V; max 99.2%. Family: 3.8 / 5.7 / 7.6 / 10 / 11.4 kW. | Single-phase string/hybrid inverter (with optimizers) | 7.6 | — | 99 | 12 (extendable; datasheet badge reads “12–25 year”)† |
| Tesla Powerwall 3 integrated solar inverter Efficiency is solar-to-home CEC weighted. | Hybrid inverter built into battery; up to 20 kW DC PV | 11.5 | — | 97.5 | 10 |
New to solar?
Start here
Check your fit
Roof, shade, bills and how long you’ll stay.
Learn the gear
Panels, inverters and batteries in plain English.
Understand costs
Read a quote and compare cost per watt.
Compare installers
Get several written quotes; check licenses.
Our methodology
How we review
- We compare manufacturer spec sheets and warranty documents side by side.
- We explain what we actually tested or researched for each review.
- Affiliate relationships never determine ratings or rankings.
- We date every review and update it when products or prices change.
FTC disclosure: Sun Switch Reviews is reader-supported. When you buy through some links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission at no extra cost to you. This doesn’t influence our ratings or recommendations. Read our full disclosure.